LibGuides: Fashion Design: Library Resources

Online Library Resources

Bloomsbury Fairchild Books Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Fairchild Books Fashion Library provides content that covers a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more.
Stylus This link opens in a new window
Stylus provides Trend Forecasting reports organized in three main areas (Consumer Lifestyle, Consumer Product, and Brand Engagement) on topics such as Consumer Attitudes; Technology; Food & Beverage; Travel & Hospitality; Fashion; Beauty; Product Design; Colour & Materials; Retail & Brand Comms; and Pop Culture & Media.

External Resources

Associations

American Apparel and Footwear Association
We represent more than 1,000 world famous name brands, retailers, and manufacturers. AAFA is the trusted public policy and political voice of the apparel and footwear industry, its management and shareholders, its three million U.S. workers, and its contribution of more than $350 billion in annual U.S. retail sales. Our reach stretches from Washington, D.C., throughout the United States, and around the globe.
Bureau of Consumer Protection
How to comply with clothing & textile requirements for labeling products made of cashmere, cotton, down, feather, fur, wool, rayon made from bamboo or other materials; attaching care instructions to garments; making truthful “Made in the USA” claims, and more.
CAF: Canadian Apparel Federation
The Canadian Apparel Federation works to ensure that the industry's interests are taken into account. They lobby on issues such as international trade, tariffs, competition policy and product safety plus a wide range of other issues.
Council of Fashion Designers of America
The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association founded in 1962, whose membership consists of 477 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers.
Fashion Group International
The FGI provides our member network with a forum for discussion and connection across all sectors through programming focused on the industry’s most current and crucial topics, recognition of emerging talent and trends at the zeitgeist of innovation.

Museums

Bata Shoe Museum
Located in Toronto, Canada, the Bata Shoe Museum (BSM) regularly displays over a thousand shoes and related artifacts, chosen from a collection of over 13,000 objects, in architect Raymond Moriyama’s iconic, award-winning building. The BSM celebrates the style, development and function of footwear across four impressive galleries, with displays ranging from Chinese bound-foot shoes and ancient Egyptian sandals to chestnut-crushing clogs and glamorous platforms. Over 4,500 years of history are reflected in our permanent exhibition, All About Shoes while our three other galleries feature changing exhibitions – so there’s always something new to see.
Cristóbal Balenciaga Museoa
The Getaria Museum is a specialised centre dedicated to a single author, meaning that its exhibitions are considered to be a reference in the context of Cristóbal Balenciaga’s life and work.
MoMu
MoMu's collection consists of clothing, accessories, and textiles, as well as more unexpected pieces such as tools, machines for textile production, patterns, and fashion show invitations.
Musee Christian Dior Granville
The Christian Dior Museum is the only “Musée de France” dedicated to a couturier. Since 2010, in addition to an annual thematic exhibition, it organizes an autumn-winter exhibition, “Une maison, des collections”, showing its permanent collections and its most recent acquisitions.
Museo Salvatore Ferragamo
Museo Salvatore Ferragamo is a corporate museum devoted mainly to the Ferragamo company’s history, the life of its founder, Salvatore Ferragamo and his creations.
The Museum at FIT
The Museum at FIT works to create exhibitions, programs, and publications that are both entertaining and educational. The mission of the Museum is to educate and inspire diverse audiences with innovative exhibitions and projects that advance knowledge of fashion.
MAD Musée de la Mode et du Textile Paris
This site presents a catalog of works photographed and selected from our major collections. Drawings, wallpapers, furniture and objects, jewellery, costumes, fabrics and advertising posters. Rarely shown due to their fragility, more than 80,000 works have been digitized with own funds but also thanks to subsidies from the Ministry of Culture and sponsorship from the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation.
Musée Yves Saint Laurent Paris
The Musée Yves Saint Laurent Paris exhibits the couturier’s body of work on the legendary premises of his former haute couture house
Simone Handbag Museum
The Simone Handbag Museum houses one of the finest collections in the world. The focus is upon fashionable western handbags, created for women to carry, convey and safeguard small personal items. Exhibits include the latest ʻItʼ bags of the 21st century and rare specimens that date back to the 1500s.
Textile Museum of Canada
The Textile Museum of Canada’s collection consists of more than 15,000 objects including a salmon skin suit from China; 2,000 year old Nazca fragments from Peru; and a hooked rug by artist Florence Ryder (Standing Buffalo Reserve, Saskatchewan) that incorporates traditional Sioux designs.
V&A: Victoria & Albert Museum
The V&A is a museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity. The Museum holds many of the UK's national collections and houses some of the greatest resources for the study of architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewellery, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance.
Fashion Illustration Gallery (FIG)
Fashion Illustration Gallery was founded in 2007 in order to promote and sell original art works and prints made by artists who have worked as fashion illustrators. In 2011 the online FIG Shop was created in order to ease the process of purchasing FIG Prints from the gallery and to introduce to the FIG audience rare magazines and books that feature fashion illustration.

Construction, Manufacturing and Suppliers

New Mexico State University Clothing Construction and Care
New Mexico State University Clothing publications cover topics related to clothing, including clothing construction and sewing, personal appearance, clothing and fabric selection, and care of textiles and clothes.
Burdastyle
for people who sew (blog)
Apparel Resources
Apparel Resources brings the worlds of Buyers and Sellers in the Apparel and Textile industry together on a single platform through its vast pool of contemporary, insightful and compelling information. This portal tracks in real-time the news that matters and every article analyzes the apparel, textile and fashion industry both written and vetted by industry experts.
Fibre 2 Fashion
Fibre2Fashion is a leading progressive B2B marketplace, serving all the segments of textile, garment, and fashion industry. Partnering with clients to drive innovation, execution and shape winning business solutions, we develop high-quality knowledge and help brands mark their presence globally.
Textile Source
Search for textile manufacturers and suppliers in our database which contains information supplied by thousands of wholesale textile and fabric companies from around the world.
Material Connexion
Material Connexion is a resource for all disciplines of design development - the world’s largest library of advanced, innovative, sustainable materials and processes in the world, providing you with immediate access to over 4,500 materials. For all of your interior, packaging, fashion, and retail design need.

Blogs and Other Resources

Style Portfolios
Fashion portfolio examples, design job listings, career advice, industry news and more.
Fashionista
Style Arena
Style Arena features a variety of fashion styles focusing on documenting the streets of Harajuku, Shibuya, Omotesando, Daikanyama, and Ginza.
Who What Wear Daily
Centre for Sustainable Fashion
The Centre for Sustainable Fashion shapes and contributes to Fashion Design for Sustainability as a field of study, industry, and education practice. We engage in transformation design, cross-referencing fashion’s ecological, social, economic, and cultural agendas.
Common Objective
CO is for anyone who is working in fashion, or interested in sustainable fashion business. Join for free to get matched with content, training, sustainable suppliers, buyers or experts through a personalised dashboard, and connect with and message anyone on the site.
Complete Textile Glossary
PDF document of the Complete Textile Glossary.
Fashion Incubator
Toronto Ed. - entrepreneurial info
POLIMODA
Polimoda Library staff has compiled a list of free online fashion resources for our students. From Vogue Italia's archive to the MET's digital collection, discover our curated list of virtual libraries, magazines, collections, databases and more to keep you busy and take advantage of this time spent at home.

Database Search Terms

When searching databases, try the following keywords:

Catalogue Search Terms

In the Library

The LaSalle College Vancouver Library uses Library of Congress classification call numbers to organize the print and non-fiction media collection*. Fashion Design books are generally found in the call number ranges as follows:

GT 510 - 2370		Costume/Fashion history, styles by period, social aspects of dressing, specific articles of clothing & accessories - e.g. Shoes, kimono, suit, bikini, hats, etc.
HD 9940		Apparel merchandising, branding
HF 5437- HF 6161		Consumer behaviour, Marketing, Fashion retailing, Market Research, Advertising, Visual Merchandising, Department stores
NA 6210- 6220		Store design, planning & display; Commercial space; signs
NC 1002.L3		Label Design
NK 2195.M3 &S.89		Store decoration
NK 88XX - NK 950X		Textiles - history and design
TR 679		Fashion photography
TS		Textiles and fabrics production
TT 490-730		Fashion/Apparel industry, Fashion Shows, Fashion design, Designers, Biography, Design Techniques, Illustration, Patternmaking, Sewing, Draping

*Documentary films and TV series are organized alphabetically by title

Books

The Fashion Encyclopedia by Emily Angus; Macushla Baudis; Philippa Woodcock
Call Number: TT 503 .A54 2015
ISBN: 9780764167676
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Fashionpedia : the visual dictionary of fashion design by Hong Kong : Fashionary International Ltd
Call Number: TT 503 .F38 2017
ISBN: 9881354765
Publication Date: 2018
Integrating Draping, Drafting and Drawing by Kathleen Maggio; Bina Abling
Call Number: TT 509 .A251 2009
ISBN: 9781563674860
Publication Date: 2008-08-29
The Visual Dictionary of Fashion Design by Gavin Ambrose; Paul Harris
Call Number: GT 507 .A43 2007
ISBN: 9782940373611
Publication Date: 2007-11-29

Free Cutting by Julain Roberts
Publication Date: 2002
How Patterns Work by Assembil Books Staff
Call Number: TT 520 .H677 2013
ISBN: 9781481959094
Publication Date: 2013-03-12
Pattern Cutting by Pat Parish
Call Number: TT 520 .P377 2013
ISBN: 9782940411900
Publication Date: 2013-03-04
Pattern Magic by Tomoko Nakamichi
Call Number: TT 520 .N25 2012
ISBN: 9781856698276
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Patternmaking with Stretch Knit Fabrics by Julie Cole
Call Number: TT 520 .C66 2016
ISBN: 9781501305047
Publication Date: 2016-02-11

Adobe for Fashion by Robin Schneider
Call Number: TT 515 .S36 2012
ISBN: 9781300577584
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Contemporary Fashion Illustration Techniques by Naoki Watanabe
Call Number: TT 509 .W3813 2009
ISBN: 9781592535569
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Fashion Drawing by John Hopkins
Call Number: TT 509 .H67 2010
ISBN: 9782940411153
Publication Date: 2009-12-02
Illustrating Fashion by Steven Stipelman
Call Number: TT 509 .S85 2011
ISBN: 9781563678301
Publication Date: 2010-06-18

Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles 7th Edition by Phyllis G. Tortora; Robert S. Merkel
Call Number: TS 1309 .F34 2005
ISBN: 9780870057076
Publication Date: 2009-03-27
The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory by Gail Baugh
Call Number: TS 1309 .B34 2011
ISBN: 9780764146282
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Strange Material by Leanne Prain
ISBN: 9781551525501
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Strange Material explores the relationship between handmade textiles and storytelling.Through text, the act of weaving a tale or dropping a thread takes on new meaning for those who previously have seen textilesquilts, blankets, articles of clothing, and moreonly as functional objects. This book showcases crafters who take storytelling off the page and into the mediums of batik, stitching, dyeing, fabric painting, knitting, crochet, and weaving, creating objects that bear their messages proudly, from personal memoir and cultural fables to pictorial histories and wearable fictions.Full-color throughout, the book includes chapters on various aspects of textile storytelling, from'Textiles of Protest, Politics, and Power'to'The Fabric of Remembrance'; it also includes specific projects, such as the well-known and profoundly moving Names Project AIDS Memorial Quilt, as well as poetry mittens, button blankets, and stitched travel diaries. Offbeat, poetic, and subversive, Strange Material will inspire readers to re-imagine the possibilities of creating through needle and fabric.Leanne Prain is the co-author (with Mandy Moore) of Yarn Bombing, now in its third printing, and the author of Hoopla: The Art of Unexpected Embroidery. A professional graphic designer, Leanne holds degrees in creative writing, art history, and publishing.

Dressing the Past by Margarita Gleba; Cherine Munkholt; Marie-Louise Nosch
Call Number: GT 520 .D74 2008
ISBN: 9781842172698
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Fashion - A Visual History by N. J. Stevenson
Call Number: GT 511 S78 2012
ISBN: 9780312624453
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
History of World Costume and Fashion by Daniel Delis Hill; JoAnne Eicher
Call Number: GT 511 .H55 2010
ISBN: 9780130992239
Publication Date: 2010-10-06
Survey of Historic Costume by Phyllis G. Tortora; Keith Eubank
Call Number: GT 580 .T67 2010
ISBN: 9781563678066
Publication Date: 2009-06-08
A Queer History of Fashion by Valerie Steele (Editor); Hal Rubinstein (Introduction by); Christopher Breward (Contribution by); Shaun Cole (Contribution by); Vicki Karaminas (Contribution by); Jonathan D. Katz; Peter McNeil (Contribution by); Elizabeth Wilson (Contribution by)
Call Number: TT 507 .Q62 2013
ISBN: 9780300196702
Publication Date: 2013-10-29

Fashion Portfolio by Anna Kiper
Call Number: TT 507 .K58 2014
ISBN: 9781849940856
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers by Linda Tain
Call Number: TT 509 .T34 2003
ISBN: 9781563672521
Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Magazines

Canadian Art (Online)
Canadian Art is the voice of Canada's contemporary art world, engaging and inspiring readers to discover the best of today's national and international. Through in-depth stories, essential reviews, beautiful design and photography, Canadian Art makes an invaluable resource for keeping up to date with the latest art world developments and future trends. Each quarterly issue delivers a timely and well-crafted summary of the art that counts the most.
GQ (Online)
. For over 60 years, GQ has been the home to the most elevated and respected photography, design, reporting and writing in the men's space. Access current issue and 5 years of back issues through Flipster.
Studio (Online)
Studio Magazine offers Canadian perspectives on Craft and Design within the global material culture. Published twice a year with an ongoing web presence, Studio is the Canadian arena for discussing the complex discourses around making. Drawing from our deep craft roots, Studio strives to articulate historical and theoretical contexts for Craft and Design in the twenty-first century. Beginning with questions of handmade artisanship and material-specific heritage, Studio also looks beyond to what 'craft' and 'design' mean for the makers and users of objects in an increasingly complicated world. Our concerns run the gamut from the collective relevance of makers in a community of billions to the personal rewards of creative individuality: from one maker in one studio to everyone everywhere.
Uppercase (Online)
UPPERCASE publishes a quarterly magazine as well as books for the creative and curious. We're inspired by design, craft, illustration and vintage. Access current issue and 5 years of back issues through Flipster.
Vanity Fair (Online)
Vanity Fair is a cultural filter, sparking the global conversation about the people and ideas that matter most. With a dedication to journalistic excellence, luminous photography and powerful storytelling, Vanity Fair is the first choice - often the only choice - for the world's most influential and important audience. From print to social media, the big screen to the smartphone, Vanity Fair is the arbiter of our era.
Vogue (Online)
Vogue places fashion in the context of culture and the world we live in—how we dress, live and socialize; what we eat, listen to and watch; who leads and inspires us. Access current issue and 5 years of back issues through Flipster.

Films

My Fair Lady (Streaming video) by George Cukor
ISBN: B002HK9IDQ
Publication Date: 1964
The Devil Wears Prada by directed by David Frankel
Call Number: DVD Comedy DEVI
ISBN: 0024543374404
Publication Date: 2006
Dior and I by Frédéric Tcheng
Call Number: TT 505 .S56 D563 2015
ISBN: B00S879CYM
Publication Date: 2015
Iris by Jennifer Ash Rudick, Laura Coxson, Rebekah Maysles and Albert Maysles
Call Number: DVD Documentary Iris
ISBN: B00YIZWIRQ
Publication Date: 2015
Men of the Cloth: a Documentary on Italian Master tailors by Vicki Vasilopoulos
Call Number: DVD Instructor Collection MENO
ISBN: B071V911DQ
Publication Date: 2014
The September Issue by R.J. Cutler
Call Number: DVD Documentary SEPT
ISBN: B002QQ8HAG
Publication Date: 2010