DefinitionA bibliography is a list of academic and non-academic sources (books, articles, films, songs, etc.) that you used to inform your writing. An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation, or in simpler terms, notes and comments. An annotated bibliography is a list of academic and non-academic sources (books, articles, films, songs, etc.) that you used to inform your writing, plus a summary and/or evaluation of each source. |
Auersperg, F., Vlasak, T., Ponocny, I., & Barth, A. (2019). Long-term effects of parental divorce on mental health – A meta-analysis. Journal of Psychiatric Research, 119, 107-115. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpsychires.2019.09.011
The authors conducted a meta-analysis of research on the effects of parental divorce on the mental health of children, including many aspects of mental health such as depression, anxiety, and alcohol and drug use. They included 54 studies published between 1990 and 2017, which means the total sample size was 506,299 participants. They found a consistent negative association between parental divorce and mental health outcomes, meaning children of divorced parents were more likely to be depressed, anxious, and have problems with drug and alcohol use. However, the effect sizes decreased over time, indicating that the effects of divorce are becoming less severe. They authors conclude that interventions should focus on improving mental health of children of divorced parents.
Nunes-Costa, R. A., Lamela, D. J., & Figueiredo, B. F. (2009). Psychosocial adjustment and physical health in children of divorce. Jornal de Pediatria, 85(5), 385–396. https://doi.org/10.2223/jped.1925
In this article, Nunes-Costa et al. addressed both the psychological effects of parental divorce on individuals as well as the physical disadvantages that can occur. Through their findings, Nunes-Costa, Lamela, & Figueiredo ascertain that developmental damages are not spurred by divorce itself but rather the consequences of marital separation. Economic distress, conflicting parenting styles, lack of social and emotional support, and the presence of mental disorders in parental figures all contribute to the deterioration of healthy developmental statuses. Difficulties in academic settings, compromised immune systems, and concerning behaviors appear to be prolonged effects of parental divorce, supporting the notion that divorce leads to maladjusted behaviors in adulthood. Through this article, informative discussions on the physical implications of divorce were obtained and added to the project.
Haque, A. (2024, September 15). Annotated bibliography on the implications parental divorce on child development [Screenshot]. APA Style Blog. https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/paper-format/annotated-bibliography-student-paper.docx
See Using Academic Databases for more information.
According to the Purdue Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL), every annotated bibliography entry contains one or more of the following:
Summary
Assessment
Reflection
Generally, an annotated bibliography contains the following:
